Chess Analytics-The Basics

Chess Analytics-The Basics

This is my first post in my upcoming series related to chess analytics.

My Idea is to use the incredible amount of chess data available publicy through online websites and available api's for them and use them to feature fresh talent and highlight pure class games.

Approach- 1)Gather Selective Data(Tournament data) Chess.com provides tournament data in the form of PGN which can be downloaded manually or through api.

image.png

2)Process data(Tournament and Player profile data) Processing this PGN data into an interpretable excel format and adding a few columns in the process using python.

image.png

3)Visualize Data I have used Power BI for visualization as it gives me more flexibility in design and it is more interpret able and dynamic in nature.

For my first project i ll take the Titled Tueday Blitz tournament hosted by Chess.com as my first usecase-

I have 4 Dashboard pages- a)An Overview page which states the tournament details and standings with some filters based on contry and titles.

image.png

b)A Participant Stats page showing the quality of Players and from which region they took part in the tournament.

image.png

c)A Performance Dashboard which gives an idea of how players are performing on this online format tournament from different ratings,countries,website categories of these users,etc

image.png

I have specifically filtered on India as I was interested in knowing Indian player performance overall.

Also you can select different players and check how they performed with White and Black pieces.Eg.Senthil performed better with Black than White and this kind of stats gives an idea on what the players need to work on.

image.png

d)Finally the most interesting page I felt is the highlights where I wanted to showcase some of the upcoming talents who are lower rated but are completely dominating with higher rated players.

-Internationally image.png

-India

image.png

e)I even went ahead and pulled out some interesting games from my last dashboard page that gives the games to me quickly.Clicking on the URL takes to chess.com/analysis board where the moves can be pasted and the games can be checked.

image.png

Some games worth mentioning- 1)Shivagami(White) vs PlotnikovPavel(Black)

image.png

Indian Women player beating a higher rated player with straight checkmate.This screenshot captures the blunder by PlotnikovPavel.

2)Chess_Boxer123(Black) vs TimKett(White)

image.png

Indian Player Ajay Karthikeyan getting a chance here to totally dominate his counterpart playing with white just in 31 moves.

3)Hikaru(Black) vs AlexeiShirov(White)

image.png

Hikaru top seed in tournament gets a resignation from opponent in 20 moves.I would love to know why though?!

Please share more insights what you want me to get from this.I ll share them in future tournaments.